THE LOW CARB DIABETIC

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
THE LOW CARB DIABETIC

Promoting a low carb high fat lifestyle for the safe control of diabetes. Eat whole fresh food, more drugs are not the answer.

Welcome to the Low Carb Diabetic forum,have you signed up yet? if not then sign up and join us in the low carb community today!

4 posters

Insulin sensitivity. Worth changing insulin, or not?

AliB
    AliB

Female Posts : 377

Insulin sensitivity.  Worth changing insulin, or not? Empty Insulin sensitivity. Worth changing insulin, or not?

Post by AliB Mon Oct 20 2014, 11:21

So, the rub is, my insulin sensitivity has gone to pot.

Unless I eat nothing but green veg, I struggle to keep my BG in single figures.

I've been using Porcine Hypurin 30/70 for the last 8 or 9 years, changed from the Humulin I was put on originally as I don't like the idea of synthetic mixes (or the way NovoNordisk operates...), but gradually I seem to be getting less and less sensitive.

I try not to have more than 40 units per day if possible. More insulin just means more weight gain, and I have a big enough problem with that as it is.

I keep toying with the idea of either a Reboot (Joe Cross) or Cura Romana to see if I can clear out whatever is blocking the uptake, but keep dithering between the two, unable to decide which would work best.

It's almost as if my body is telling me it doesn't want the insulin.

Do different insulins work differently in the body. Have you found a dufference between them?
    Jan1
    Jan1

Female Posts : 5094

Insulin sensitivity.  Worth changing insulin, or not? Empty Re: Insulin sensitivity. Worth changing insulin, or not?

Post by Jan1 Mon Oct 20 2014, 17:01

AliB wrote:So, the rub is, my insulin sensitivity has gone to pot.

Unless I eat nothing but green veg, I struggle to keep my BG in single figures.